Cody Summerville

Cody was elected to serve as president of the Austin Chapter for 2017-2019. He has been highly involved with NAEYC and TXAEYC for the past several years. Currently, he is the Parliamentarian and the P-3 Workgroup Chair on the TXAEYC Board and a co-facilitator of the Kindergarten Interest Forum for NAEYC. Throughout his career, Cody has been a kindergarten teacher, trainer, consultant, and is currently a program specialist. He holds a B.S. in early childhood education and a M.Ed. in curriculum and instruction. 

Belinda Rojas
Vice President

Insert Bio here.

Dawn Leach
VP of Program Services

Dawn Leach is currently the manager of the ACC Children’s Lab School. She has been in the field for almost 40 years in the role of teacher, director, education director, parent educator, trainer, and adjunct faculty. Her adult children often say, “I don’t know anyone who loves their job as much as you do.” This is her second time to serve as a VP for the local affiliate and she is honored to be part of such an outstanding professional organization.

Jerri Thompson
VP of Professional Development

Jerri began serving as the Head of School for St. George's in May 2014. With over 33 years of experience and a Masters in Early Childhood Education, she serves as a leader in our field. She is the Vice President of Professional Development for the Austin Association for the Education of Young Children, a Master Registered Trainer for the state of Texas, and owner of her business ECEToday. She also wrote a Scope and Sequence for ages 3 months-Kindergarten and Assessment Tools that accompany the Scope and Sequence. Through her years as an early childhood teacher, adjunct instructor, trainer, consultant, and administrator, Jerri strives to leave a positive impact on the lives of children and their families.

Denise Edmondson


Jenni Billingsley
Learning Communities Chair

Since 2000 Jenni has enjoyed working with young children in a variety of centers including programs that provide inclusive care for children with special needs.  She is very passionate about professional development and loves to facilitate trainings that explore new ideas and topics in the field. Jenni’s practice in the classroom, her advocacy, and professional development facilitation all emphasize cross-system thinking from an equity lens, and relationship building.

Amanda Davila
Communications Chair

Amanda Davila earned her Bachelor of Science degree from the University of Texas at Austin in Human Development and Family Sciences. She has experience teaching young children and found her passion for administration while successfully directing both for-profit and non-profit programs. Amanda currently works at the UT Lab School (Priscilla Pond Flawn Child and Family Laboratory).

Laura Lancaster Faulk
Awards Chair

Laura Lancaster Faulk has worked in Early Childhood for the  past 20 years.  She served as Head of School for St. David's Episcopal Day School from 2002 through 2016, leading the school through NAEYC accreditation in 2006, reaccreditation in 2011, and reaccreditation in 2016.  Laura served on the AAEYC Board  from 2010-2014 and currently serves as the Austin Chapter TAEYC Awards Committee Chair.  A graduate of Southwestern University, she also sits on the Alumni Council and, this year, plans to devote much of her time there to the support of first generation college students.  She also continues lead trainings in child safety for St. David's Episcopal Church.

Sandra Hamilton
Advocacy Co-Chair
Chinwe Onwujuba
Trainings Chair

Chinwe Onwujuba is an educator with Pflugerville ISD where she creates and implements relevant learning experiences for Kindergarten students, provides mentorship and teaching to student teachers, and co-ordinates a schoolwide STEM related project for all kids. Chinwe is also a Master trainer with TECPDS and conducts research in the field of Early childhood and Family studies. Chinwe is currently the Training Committee chair for the Austin Chapter of TXAEYC.  

Shannon Saldana
Accreditation Co-Chair
Gale Spear
Advocacy Co-Chair
Gale is currently a professor at Austin Community College. She has been a professor and an advocate for young children, families, and early childhood educators for over 40 years. She strongly believes that: all children deserve a quality early childhood education; families deserve the needed supports to help them thrive; and early childhood educators deserve to earn a living wage that reflects the significant work they do.
Jerri Thompson
Conference Chair
Kristi Vidaure
Week of the Young Child Chair

Interested in serving on a committee? CONTACT US!