EXPLORE by amanda-jones-w5zpEiVtNIk-unsplash.jpg

Our History

Many thanks to Sue Gartner, a past president, and long-time active member. It's been through her leadership that our history is now chronicled at the Austin History Center.

Keep Calm and Do History

The story of Austin AEYC, now the Austin Chapter - txaeyc, has been preserved over the past 60 years by many farsighted and organized individuals. As a few may recall, in about 1990, at our 30th anniversary, the board created a plan to compile and donate all documents to the Austin History Center.

By 1993, the first 30 years were documented. Thousands of hand typed pages were placed in acid free envelopes by year. Notebooks were created to recognize special individuals, newsworthy events and noteworthy advocates who shared our goals: to recognize the importance of the early years, advocate for and elevate the profession and celebrate outstanding professionals.

In about 1998, Linda Welsh, and Lynda MacLeod were asked by a past board member to continue recording the story of our local professional organization. Ad hoc history committee chairs were appointed to carry this work forward. AAEYC Presidents stored the files at various locations including Connections Resource Center and later a large child care center before moving over a dozen boxes to the home of the current historian several years ago.

Several years and numerous history team work sessions later, the Story of the Austin Chapter is ready to share with The Austin History Center. Now all can “Walk in our Shoes” and see how the cumulative efforts of many leaders and boards paved the way for generations to come.

The Austin Chapter archives fill five file boxes with carefully curated annual envelopes, and numerous notebooks, You will find: accreditation training calendars, advocacy pages, agendas, awards event brochures, award winners, board members, brochures, calendars, clippings, committee memos, community collaboration projects, conference programs, directories, DVD’s, letters, minutes, a newsletter notebook, photos, presidents, proclamations, inspiring Week of the Young Child activities and more!

It is with sincere gratitude that the History Committee recognizes by name those who most enthusiastically embraced our History Project. They came to work sessions, responded to emails with additions, corrections, stories, photos or clippings, or shared inspiring stories at anniversary awards events.

Thank you Ron Hubbard, Jane Jamison, Sara Madera, Johanna Huggans, Gale Spear, Dawn Leach, Linda Welsh, Mary Jamsek, Amanda Hernandez, Sue Gartner, Cindy Gamez, Kim Kofron, Karlene Bennett, Melissa Ply, Raye Sansom, Amy Wong Mok, Elizabeth Bello, Gloria Neunaber, Denise Quintanilla, Elwin Russel West, Cody Summerville, Jerri Thompson, and especially Laura Faulk, our awesome awards chair who quietly organized the entire awards archive and ensured that our history was present front and center at every awards event.